Government College University Faisalabad

Layyah Campus

GC University Faisalabad Layyah Campus Near Layyah Sugar Mills, Layyah
+92-0606412938, +92-0300-6431414

A Brief History of Layyah

Previously a tehsil of Muzafargarh, Layyah gained the status of being a district in 1982. The district name is derived from a commonly grown shrub, LIE/LAYYAN used as fuel wood. The district of Layyah comprises of three tehsils which include Layyah, Chaobara and Karor lal Esan. District Layyah is situated in the south west (rather west) of Punjab. In its north, is situated the district Bhakkar while in its west flows River Indus. Across the river there is Dera Ghazi Khan which is also the district of Punjab. District of Jhang is located in the east and Muzafargarh is located in the south of district Layyah.

The district consist of a semi-rectangular block of sandy land between the Indus and Chanab rivers in Sindh Sagar Doaba. It is also part of the recently established civil division of Dera Ghazi khan. The total area covered by district is 6.291 sq kms with a width from east to west of 88 kms and length from north to south of 72 kms. Having the population of 1,121,951, the population density is 178.2 peoples/sq km. At more than 700 kms distance from the Arabian Sea and an average height above the sea level of 1,525 meters, district Layyah falls in the sub-tropical continental plain zone of the climate map of Pakistan.

District layyah is primarily represented by plains. The three main agro-ecological zone are

  1. Creek, Dhands and Nullahs of River Indus in the west which is locally known as Nasheb (or Depression) and receiving inundation from River Indus.
  2. Green area of crops, gardens and forest in the irrigation tract of THAL.
  3. Barrani crops of sandy deserts.

In the national study on poverty and rural credit, Dr. Malik include this district in a “low intensity” agro-ecological zone in the Punjab. A classification based upon agricultural productivity.

According to the 2011 district census the Muslim population is by far the largest religious group comprising of 98.7% of the population followed by Chirstain who are hardly 1% of the populations and are equally spread among the urban and rural area locations. While two third of the district population reported Sariaki as their mother tongue and close to one third as Punjabi, a very minority indentified Urdu, Pusto and Sindhi as their language.

District Layyah has three sub-divisions or Tehsils

  1. Layyah
  2. Karor Lal Esan
  3. Chaobara

On the average the literacy ratio in the district is 39% which is low as compared to the provincial and national literacy ratios which are 46.6% and 44% respectively. While a little more than half the population of 10 years and above is literate, less than one fourth of this category are females.


Rai Safdar Abbas Bhatti
Project Director
GCUF Sub Campus Layyah

Rai Ghulam Abbas Bhatti
Al-Abbas Bhatti Trust

AL-ABBAS Bhatti Trust was establish purely for welfare intents. Al-Abbas trust, so far, rendered its endeavors in almost all walks of life. The Trust contribute financially for the marriages of girls in poor families, facilitated4500 poor families for the immigration of their youth in abroad, provided network of free transport for students in the whole District. It provided scholarship grants and free higher education to the intelligent and position holders students. Free Ambulance and provision of free equipment in Government Hospitals is one of the chief mark Al-Abbas Trust the services of this trust went on and finally it sailed to the realization of LICCS.

Layyah Institute of Commerce and Computer sciences (LICCS) emerged on the jubilant day of independence i.e August 14, 1997. At the outset Diploma in Business Administration (DBA) and Bachelor in Commerce (B.Com) were lunched in rented building. Soon this institute achieved excellent slandered of education and attracted hundreds of students at a time. The educational quest went on and LICCS earned a distinct position in commerce, computer Sciences, Law, Health and Physical education, Technology, Education, Science, and other related studies.

At present it is affiliated with Punjab Board of Technical Education Lahore, Board of Intermediate and secondary Education Dera Ghazi Khan, Bahauddin Zakariya University Multan, University of Sargodha, Allama Iqbal Open University, and Virtual University in some or the other fields of discipline. Approximately 3500 students ( Girls and Boys) are currently enrolled in diverse programs. The pass out of LICCS are to the tune of 15000.

LICCS with division in to different campuses, is now LICCS group of Colleges. At present, it has its own three spacious campuses in prime location of Layyah city. LICCS group of colleges boats of having 114 highly motivated and dedicated qualified staff in teaching and non-teaching field. Its transportation system is hall mark providing free transport to the students within the radius of 50 KM.

LICCS group of colleges enjoys a series of distinctions in different fields of studies every year. The students are rewarded with Medals on countless occasion by the Boards and Universities as well for holding positions in different classes. The faculty and the Managing Director were rewarded Gold Medals in recognition their services.

LICCS group of college is divided in to diverse Departments

  1. Commerce
  2. Technology
  3. Science
  4. Law
  5. Education
  6. Information Technology

Each department has an HOD who keeps in contact with CEC ( Central Executive Committee) of the college and who is also responsible for the supervision/ evaluation of the concerned department. Policy making of the institute is in the hand of CEC to be delivered at the outset of each calendar year.

The placement department maintains the record of the pass out and keeps laison with different department and industry. This department facilitates the students in their job seeking. Lecture of different head of departments are arranged to create the demand of the pass outs.

List of HEC Approved Programs Offered at Layyah Campus

  1. DPT (5 Years)
  2. B.Com IT (2 Years)
  3. BBA (Hons) (4 Years)
  4. BS Sociology (4 Years)
  5. BS Mathematics (4 Years)
  6. BS Zoology (4 Years)
  7. BS Physics (4 Years)
  8. BS Chemistry (4 Years)
  9. BS Botany (4 Years)
  10. BS Food Science & Technology (4 Years)
  11. BS Human Nutrition & Dietetics (4 Years)
  12. BS Information Technology (4 Years)
  13. BS Computer Science (4 Years)
  14. B.Sc. Civil Engineering Technology (4 Years)
  15. B.Sc. Mechanical Engineering Technology (4 Years)
  16. B.Sc. Electrical Engineering Technology (4 Years)
  17. M.Com (2 Years)
  18. MCS (2 Years)
  19. MSc Chemistry (2 Years)
  20. MSc Physics (2 Years)
  21. MSc Sociology (2 Years)
  22. MSc Zoology (2 Years)
  23. MSc Mathematics (2 Years)
  24. MSc Botany (2 Years)
  25. MBA (1.5 Years)
  26. MBA (3.5 Years )

Search this website